Tangible cultural property (Historical Material)
Sekizo Meireki Taika oshisha-to Kuyoto
Designated in 1924
This is a tower built for victims of the Great Fire at Meireki time. It was built around 1675 by the petition from the second chief priest of Ekoin Temple, Shinyo Teizon.
There used to be many fires in Edo. Since merchants, who account for a half of the population in Edo, were crammed into limited areas, a single fire could cause serious damage. The Great Fire at Meireki time is a common term for three fires that occurred consecutively from January 18 to 19. Most of the city center at the time (current Chiyoda and Chuo wards) was affected by the fire and tens of thousands of people were killed.
The main stone is in rectangular shape and all four surfaces were chamfered. On top of the main stone, a coping stone with bargeboards on all four sides, and houju(sacred gem) are place on . Tow lotus-shaped base and two square pedestal stones are at the bottom. The total height is 305cm (coping stone 68cm, main stone 162cm, lotus-shaped base and pedestal stones 75cm). The tower was originally build in front of Sanbutsu-do hall at the right side of the main hall of Ekoin Temple. Later the halls were moved but it is assumed that the location of the tower has not been moved. In Ekoin Temple, there are many other memorial towers for the neglected. In the east side of the main hall, many memorial towers and gravestones of the famous can be seen.